The Art of Letting Go And How It Has Changed My Life

We’ve lost the awareness of the fact that our pain, suffering and misery is a result of our own doing. Many of us have been indoctrinated into a lifestyle that plays upon the premise of duality. Good/Bad, Right/Wrong and Light/Darkness is the very problem we grapple with.

Our judgments, opinions and beliefs have created a rigid belief system. We categorize everything in two main categories. Likes and dislikes. Thus whenever we encounter things we don’t prefer we tend to resist it. This resistance creates turmoil and suffering in our life. Our judgments dictate our desires; thus solidifying our consciousness into a rigid mentality.

We tend to hold onto ideas, beliefs and thoughts that no longer serve us. We fail to see that these are very source of all the negativity we experience in our life. We cling to our preferences in a way that creates mental friction and instability. Our desires have gotten the best of us.

We fail to acknowledge the fact that perhaps some things that we don’t prefer may be the exact thing we need in our life. We’re so focused on our own viewpoint that we fail to even contemplate whether or not our desires are what we really need.

Much of the depression we have in today’s society is the result of judgments and unfulfilled desires. We’ve equated our sense of identity and value to what we have accomplished and possess. If we don’t live up to our expectations we view this as a negative thing; thus creating depressing.

I know this from personal experience; I’ve had many things happen in my life that I used to consider to be negative. I was never able to live up to my expectations or others. My goals and desires in life never really did manifest the way I wanted them to. I developed a severe depression that led me down a darken state of being. I was suicidal, negative, confrontational and very apathetic. I had no care for anything or anyone, many times I would relish the idea of inflicting pain upon others. I was very lost in my negativity; my whole paradigm was shattered and I felt broken.

“Acceptance of what has happened is the first step to overcoming the consequences of any misfortune.” – William James

It wasn’t until I started to really evaluate my life did I discover that it was my lack of acceptance that held me in bondage. I would resist everything that I didn’t want. My preferences dictated whether not something was positive or negative. I never even considered the possibility that they could be beneficial.

When I started to practice Acceptance I slowly started to discover the good that came from many of my experiences that I once held as negative/bad. It helped me to understand myself and this reality in a more intimate way. I started to realize the power that is inherent in all of us. That we the individuals have the capacity to choose to be happy or not regardless of our past.

“Be like water making its way through cracks. Do not be assertive, but adjust to the object, and you shall find a way around or through it. If nothing within you stays rigid, outward things will disclose themselves.

Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend.”   – Bruce Lee

When I started to practice acceptance I realized that whenever something comes into my field of experience I have a choice in how I will react. For so very long I would instinctively react to stimuli I didn’t desire in a very negative and unhealthy manner. Acceptance allowed me to see that there is more then one way to react to everyday life.

Things that once would have upset me started to lose their influence on my life. My reactions towards them started to become much more malleable. When negative feelings arose I discovered that by accepting and honoring them made it easier to handle them. When I didn’t judge or resist them; they tended to be released much easier.

This is what I’ve discovered to be the art of letting go. Many times I would hold onto these negative emotions and not let them run their natural course. When I started to accept them though; they lost much of their polarity. I wasn’t be bogged down in a negative state of being as much as before.

I’ve discovered that peace is found from within. When I experience negative emotions I accept them and embrace them. I still my mind and let them go. How I do that is by embracing the stillness. I find that by stilling my mind I’m able to release these negative emotions much quicker and efficient.

This discovery was the most exciting thing to happen in my life for a very long time! It became obvious to me that my happiness is truly dependent upon me. I can choose to be happy regardless of my outside circumstances. This revelation is the source of empowerment that I’ve been searching for for so long.

“Happiness is a choice. Choose to be happy and you will be.” – Domonique Bertolucci 

Life has transformed into a beauty journey since then. I’ve come to realize that all my experiences led to this understanding; that they were the necessary perquisite for me to discover the power within myself. This power relies upon the inner landscape and not the external world.

I no longer need external desires or wants to act as an permission slip for me to be happy. I can choose to be that happiness right now; it’s really that simple. Happiness though involves much more then positive emotions. True Happiness also involves shadow work; where we accept and love our vices. It is our darkness that helps us to see what we really want in life.

 For example; inventors experience many failures in their life. Yet they don’t become bogged down by these failures; instead they learn from them and this brings them one step closer to their successful invention. I share this analogy because that’s what I’ve discovered in my life. My negative experiences are assets in disguise.

When I started to accept them and learn from them; life transforming wisdom and healing came into my field of experience. It has allowed me to let go of much of the baggage I’ve been holding onto for a great many years. Yet this wouldn’t have happened if those negative things didn’t occur in my life. So what was once negative has now become a positive. This is a ongoing process and I still experience negative emotions and thoughts; but I’m able to recover much quicker now.

The art of letting go is the key to alchemy. Many people have been searching for the secrets of this mystical practice; but yet many of the times we approached this understanding from narrow understanding. We failed to see that alchemy begins from within; because what is in is out. Thus when we start the practicing alchemy within our inner world; it will eventually manifest in our external world.

“This is why alchemy exists,” the boy said. “So that everyone will search for his treasure, find it, and then want to be better than he was in his former life. Lead will play its role until the world has no further need for lead; and then lead will have to turn itself into gold.

That’s what alchemists do. They show that, when we strive to become better than we are, everything around us becomes better, too.” – ― Paulo Coelho   

The art of letting go is a alchemic practice that transforms the polarity within our mental realm. It has the capacity to transform our past. What was once negative can be transmuted into positivity. When we let go of our preconceived ideas about our past we are granted an opportunity to see the good in it. It is the opening of the gates of divinity; where everything becomes one, because in the end all is good; because we are all one.

This is how we will heal as a species. Our children will grow up learning about these things. They will be taught the art of letting go from the very start. Yet this will only be our reality because of us way showers. We the People are the ones who will provide this future for them. Thus it is paramount that we all start practicing the art of letting go.

“Once you realize you deserve a bright future, letting go of your dark past is the best choice you will ever make.” – ― Roy T. Bennett

I know that there is much darkness in this world at this moment and this is why I share this understanding. This understanding is not my own though; it belongs to no one person. Many mystics, gurus and priests have taught this in the past. This is just simply a rehashing of life transforming wisdom that has been present from the very beginning.

This understanding will be vital for humanity to learn in order to accept our past and move on. When Full Disclosure(pertaining to ETs and US Black Projects) occurs many people are going to be triggered and negative. There is so much darkness about to come to the surface that it will be essential for humanity to learn the art of letting go.

Only by letting go will we be able to turn those negative experiences into assets. Else we’ll react in a negative manner and just keep perpetuating the same negative cycle we’ve been caught in for thousands of years. It is time we let go of our past; else we’ll be doomed to keep repeating it over and over again. I for one choose to see the good in all things. For I know that what is happens for a reason and the Art of Letting Go has helped me to realize this.

Timothy Frappier

Leave a Reply

